A trabajar…

I have no idea how long has it been since my last post (something that can be easily verified) but the important thing is that I am here today (today is relative to the day you read this). Since my last post, great things have happened to me, one of them being that I have a new job (hooray for me!). I will not have to deal with customers over the phone not wanting to talk to me because I am not in the “mainland”. In my new job, anyone who wants something that has to do with me, has to speak with me (you get the point). I now have a Monday-to-Friday-business-hours job, and I found more interesting stuff that we do as Boricuas.

My ride to work
My ride to work

Since I started working here I have been using the train; it’s cheaper and I get to avoid all the crazy people on the street. And since I’m a morning person, I have no problem with getting up early and go to work. But it’s really interesting to see the people around, walking minding their own business unless they want to get in to yours. In one of my train rides (which remind me of my great time working in DC) I was minding my business and trying not to fall asleep, and a lady interrupted my fight to ask if I have been working on this Company for long (I forgot to take out my ID, so she saw the company’s name). “I just started a couple of days ago”, I said. And for the next 15 minutes she told me that she’s been working for a good company and that she loved the train ride “even though it takes too long to go to the last stop of the train (in a normal drive it could take you around 35 minutes, and in the train is only 20)”. I just nodded my head and was thinking that this is something we as Boricuas do. Is not that we want to know anybody’s business; it’s just that we love to talk and meet strangers along the way. And we do this in busses, trains, waiting lines in the bank or coffee shops or just walking around (we are special, you see!).

Don't care
Don’t care

In terms of traffic, topic that was discussed in my first post, Puerto Rico is different from many other places in the world. But if we are walking, how can we be Boricuas and do Boricua things? In my time in DC, where I worked in a busy area as the one I’m at now, I saw everybody in the corner waiting for the light to go red and then they verified the traffic and walked to their offices or wherever they needed to. Sometimes their offices were right across the street from the train station and people walked all the way to the corner, crossed the street and the walked back to the building. That takes too damn long! In Puerto Rico we will cross the street wherever we want to. If the light is green, the car better stop for us. You know how many times I have heard in the last couple of days “You better stop” or “Slow down” when the light is green for the cars? And it’s stupid, at least for us, to walk to the corner if my building is right across the street (it is common sense).

Fulanaaaaaaa....
Fulanaaaaaaa….

I have worked with Latinos and non-Latinos before and I know that Boricuas are the loudest of them all. In areas full of people is more obvious and sometimes Boricuas don’t even like to use the phone to call a co-worker who is four or five cubicles down the hall (why call if she’s not deaf). “FULANAAA…VEN ACA UN MOMENTO (Jane Doe, come here for a second)!”And the people three cubicles between Fulana and the other person, won’t even care because is normal. In the cafeteria or common areas (the way the lunch area is called now) the noise is even worse. Some of us notice it, but none of us cares or dares to tell people to keep it down; that is just time we have to vent and tell stories and jokes about life, friends and, most importantly, bosses.

Another thing about the new job is that I may have more stories for the blog. It will be a fun ride, and I will let you know how we Boricuas deal with everyday life in the office. Remember to share this post with your friends and co-workers and to comment on it too. And to those friends and great co-workers that I left on the other side, thanks for that ride with me. All the memories and stories shared will not be forgotten. Until next time, cójanlo suave!

One thought on “A trabajar…

  1. antonio February 9, 2014 / 7:09 pm

    Buenas!
    Ɗebo admitir que antes no me motivaba mucho elblog, sin
    embargo actualmente estgoy entrando frecuentemente y me esta gustando mas.

    Un saludo!

Leave a Reply

