Sounds better…

The break time is over, and I am back to my writing. I took a couple of weeks to clear my mind and try to get new material to write about. I even traveled to Washington, DC to get more stuff for my blog (that’s not the reason I went there, but I discovered new things Boricuas do). But, after all the traveling, all the thinking I never made and everything in between, I have something new.

In case you forgot, here it is!
In case you forgot, here it is!

If you are new to my blog, all I can say is “Welcome and keep reading!”. If you are a recurring member or you still don’t understand why Boricuas are the way we are, you came to the right place. Two weeks ago, I was having some trainings at my new job, and the trainer is from Uruguay (get your mind out of the States and verify the map). Other than her accent, which is different from Boricuas’, what called our attention was the fact that she was amazed by the way she has been treated. Don’t get me wrong, I DO understand it because Boricuas tend to be caring people. But she was amazed at how people drive and that we do it in an orderly fashion and even with a smile. In my first post (click to read the first post), I said that if you can drive here in Puerto Rico, you can drive anywhere. I was definitely mistaken. When the trainer said she was happy by the way she was treated and all the peace she felt driving in our streets, we were speechless; we did not know if she was being sarcastic or ate something that made her say weird stuff. Polite in the street!?!?!?? I mean, if we see someone waiting to cross, more often than not we will let that person cross the street, but Boricuas can be aggressive at times.

Get him!
GET HIM!!!

After she saw our faces she felt the need to explain (I think she saw the “What the….” in our faces”). She said that in her hometown people drive like there is no tomorrow, like a 13 year old girl racing to see Justin Bieber, like a 30 year old girl running to see The Rock, or like my mom to see Roberto Carlos; I mean FAST!!! They drive 90 mph in a 65 mph highway (many Boricuas do that here, but she said all of them did in her home). And according to her, in Uruguay, where she lives, people driving cross from one lane to the other without reducing speed and caring for nothing. Since she saw disbelief in our eyes, she said that is not only her who thinks that; also her friends from Uruguay who have been living here for more than five years still think that way.

Driving in Puerto Rico
Driving in Puerto Rico

So, we really felt good about that.  Sometimes you don’t appreciate what you have in your house until someone comes in and tell you how nice it is. And I don’t want to criticize Uruguay here. If you read about their history as a country, it has not been easy for them at all. In the last 70 years the country has been really close to hell and came back. They deserve to drive that way after all they have gone through. But back to my point, I was happy to hear what other people see when they come here. If we, as a country, work to be as we know we can be and as other people see us, we would be dominating this world (I mean, we are but we can do better).

Remember to share this post and read all others if you haven’t (shame on you!). You can also comment here in the post or email me your thoughts and/or ideas to enlopositivo@gmail.com. Until next time, cójanlo suave!

Leave a Reply

